Costume Designers Guild Reveals 2024 CDGA Nominations Including Helen Huang for "Beef"
January 5, 2024

Written by Erik Pederson, Deadline

The Costume Designers Guild has fashioned the nominees for its 2024 awards.

The two top-grossing live-action films of the year — Barbie and Oppenheimer — will vie in the marquee Excellence in Sci-Fi/Fantasy and Period Film categories, respectively, along with such awards-season favorites as Killers of the Flower Moon, Poor Things, Maestro, May December, Saltburn and others.

See the full list of nominations for film, TV, shortform costume design and costume illustration below. The 26th CDGA ceremony is set for Wednesday, February 21, at NeueHouse Hollywood.

Barbie‘s Jacqueline Durran will go up against the costume designers behind Haunted Mansion (Jeffrey Kurland), The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes (Trish Summerville), The Little Mermaid (Colleen Atwood & Christine Cantella) and Rebel Moon – Part One: A Child of Fire (Stephanie Porter).

Oppenheimer‘s Ellen Mirojnick will compete with Killers of the Flower Moon‘s Jacqueline West, Mark Bridges’ Maestro, Janty Yates & Dave Crossman’s Napoleon and Holly Waddington’s Poor Things.

The third big-screen category — Excellence in Contemporary Film — will pit American Fiction (Rudy Mance) against May December (April Napier), Nyad (Kelli Jones), Renfield (Lisa Lovaas) and Saltburn (Sophie Canale).

Among the nominated TV shows are The Bear, The Crown, Beef, The Last of Us, The Great, The Morning Show, Daisy Jones & the Six, Ahsoka, Loki and The Mandalorian.

“It is with immense pride that this year our union will be including and celebrating all CDG classifications, including costume designers, assistant costume designers and costume illustrators,” said Terry Gordon, President of the Costume Designers Guild, IATSE Local 892. “Your remarkable contributions have elevated the art of costume design.”

The Costume Designers Guild includes more than 1,200 costume designers, assistant costume designers and illustrators working in motion pictures, TV, commercials, music videos and new media programs throughout the world.

Here are the nominees for the 26th CDGA:

Excellence in Contemporary Television
The Bear: Fishes – Courtney Wheeler
Beef: The Birds Don’t Sing, They Screech in Pain – Helen Huang
The Last of Us: Endure and Survive – Cynthia Ann Summers
The Morning Show: The Kármán Line – Sophie de Rakoff & Debra McGuire
Poker Face: The Orpheus Syndrome – Trayce Gigi Field

Link to View Entire List of Nominees and Read Original Article