Mark Doering-Powell, ASC press
Director of Photography Mark Doering-Powell, ACE, Wins 2021 Los Angeles Confidential Impact Awards
August 24, 2021

by: Los Angeles Confidential

The 2nd Annual Los Angeles Confidential Impact Awards is proud to spotlight the artisans and creatives behind the biggest shows of the year, recognizing the offscreen talent from hit Emmy-nominated shows including The Crown, Fargo, and more. The Impact Awards was created to honor the tremendous behind-the-scenes talents that are shaping the television landscape.

CASTING AWARD: Sharon Bialy, Sherry Thomas, Russell Scott, Robin D. Cook, The Handmaid's Tal

CHOREOGRAPHY AWARD: Mandy Moore, Zoey's Extraordinary Playlist

Mandy Moore serves as choreographer and a producer for NBC’s “Zoey’s Extraordinary Playlist.” Moore won the 2020 Emmy Award for Outstanding Choreography for Scripted Programming for her work on the freshman season of “Zoey’s Extraordinary Playlist."

The three-time Emmy Award winner and eight-time nominee is a world-class director, producer, choreographer and dancer best known for her groundbreaking work as a producer and choreographer on “Dancing With the Stars,” “So You Think You Can Dance” and “Dancing With the Stars Junior.” In feature films, Moore’s choreography can be seen in the highly acclaimed “La La Land,” written and directed by Damien Chazelle, “Second Act” (Jennifer Lopez), “Gloria Bell” (Julianne Moore) and the upcoming Disney film “Stargirl” (Grace Vanderwaal). Moore made history in 2017 by being the first to choreograph the Golden Globe Awards, Oscars, Grammy Awards and Emmy Awards in the same year. As a leader in the entertainment industry, she is on the Board of Governors at the Television Academy leading the recently established Choreographer Peer Group.

CINEMATOGRAPHY AWARD: Mark Doering-Powell, ACE, Grown-ish

Three time Emmy-nominated cinematographer Mark Doering-Powell bridges numerous styles and genres of cinematography with an “anything is possible” attitude. He recently received an Emmy nomination in the Outstanding Cinematography category for his work on Freeform’s grown-ish.

This nomination marks Freeform’s first Emmy nomination ever. Doering-Powell received two previous Emmy nominations for his work on Ali LeRoi and Chris Rock’s Golden Globes-nominated comedy series Everybody Hates Chris. Doering-Powell’s work can be seen on Amazon Studio’s original series Just Add Magic; Comedy Central’s Workaholics; and more.

COMPOSER AWARD: Jeff Russo, Fargo

Emmy-winning and Grammy-nominated composer Jeff Russo is creating some of the most varied and compelling music for television, film and video games. Russo just received two Emmy nominations this year. One for his score of FX Networks’ Emmy Award-winning and Golden Globe-winning series Fargo, for which he won an Emmy in 2016 and earned two additional nominations, and the second for HBO Max’s OSLO, which he co-composed with Zoë Keating.

His music can also be heard on Paramount+’s Star Trek: Picard; Star Trek: Discovery; and Clarice; Netflix’s Cursed; The Umbrella Academy; Apple TV+’s For All Mankind and Starz's Power. Russo also received a BAFTA nomination for Best Music for Annapurna Interactive's video game, What Remains of Edith Finch.


Sarah Bridge recently earned her first Emmy nomination for her work on Netflix’s Golden Globe-winning and Emmy Award-nominated period drama series The Crown.

Bridge is also the music supervisor on BritBox/AMC+’s crime series The Beast Must Die; and the on-camera music supervisor for Bridgerton. Bridge’s upcoming projects include Will Sharpe/HBO’s mini-series Landscapers; Will Sharpe/ Amazon Studios’ The Electrical Life of Louis Wain; and Apple TV+’s Anglo-French Original series Liaison.

WRITING AWARD: Lauren Ashley Smith, A Black Lady Sketch Show

Lauren is the Head Writer and Co-Executive Producer of HBO’s Emmy-nominated comedy series, “A Black Lady Sketch Show.” Previously, Lauren was the Head Writer of the critically acclaimed late night show, "The Rundown with Robin Thede.” Lauren is currently developing a pilot with ABC and her other writing and producing credits include "Best Week Ever," "Fashion Queens," and "Watch What Happens Live with Andy Cohen."